London Exhibitions – which one to choose?

This week I have gone into London twice as I have an assignment on exhibition review writing as part of my BA Photography course. Hard life I know… I have visited The Photographers Gallery, the Barbican and the V&A Museum. 

The Photographer’s gallery had an exhibition on Edward Steichen and Viviane Sassen. I especially liked the work of Edward Steichen as I liked the clear, crisp feel of his work and his use of tall graceful models during the 1930s – the Charleston era which is my favourite fashion period of all time with the long and elegant dresses and the perfect no-hair-out-of-place look.

The second  exhibition visit was at the Barbican to see Constructing Worlds: Photography and Architecture in the Modern Age. This exhibition was a collaboration of many different photographers. The exhibition showed the images of photographers such as Iwan Baan, Thomas Struth, Bernd and Hilla Becher, Walker Evans. I particularly liked this exhibition as it more relevant to my current research into Documentary Photographers as part of my Orientation assignment.

The next visit to London took me to the V&A where I went to Horst: Photographer of style exhibition. I learnt that this particular photographer wasn’t afraid to try different types of photography and subject matters. His photography ranged from couture to surrealism, stage and screen in the studio to travel and patterns from nature. His work has inspired many photographers and I am a new found fan of his work.

Overall, all the exhibitions where beautifully set out and I now have an appreciation of how much hard work goes into putting on these shows after my own hanging project. A particular highlight of the art of exhibition presentations was at the V&A’s Horst exhibition where the mood and theme changed as you moved from one area of his work to the next. 

I have really enjoyed my whistle-stop tours into London and I am not sure which exhibition to choose for my review writing assignment, but I know that I really won’t mind going to visit them all over again to confirm my choice.

Leave a comment